Department of Physics

Indian Institute Of Technology Madras , Chennai
Dr. Pattabiraman, M
HSB 114

Associate Professor


IIT Madras



044 - 2257 4890


Optics & Photonics

 Current Research :

 Recent Publications :

Hanle electromagnetically induced absorption in open Fg→Fe⩽Fg transitions of the 87Rb D2 line

Raghwinder Singh Grewal and M Pattabiraman

J. Phys. B: At. Mol. Opt. Phys. 48 (2015) 085501

Year: 2015

Effect of an additional magnetic field on Hanle-type absorption resonances

Raghwinder Singh Grewal and M Pattabiraman

J. Phys. B: At. Mol. Opt. Phys. 47 (2014) 195501

Year: 2014

Sign reversal of Hanle Electromagnetically Induced Absorption with orthogonal circularly polarized optical fields,

Nibedita Ram and M. Pattabiraman,

J. Phys. B: At. Mol. Opt. Phys, 43, 245503 (2010)

Year: 2010

Effect of Ellipticity on Hanle Electromagnetically Induced Absorption and Transparency Resonances with Longitudinal and Transverse Magnetic fields,

Nibedita Ram, M. Pattabiraman and C. Vijayan,

Phys Rev A ,82, 033417 (2010).

Year: 2010

Hanle electromagnetically induced transparency and absorption resonances with a Laguerre Gaussian beam,

J Anupriya, Nibedita Ram and M. Pattabiraman,

Phys Rev A ,81, 043804 (2010).

Year: 2010

Role of Transfer of Coherence in Enhanced Absorption Hanle Effect with Two Optical Fields

Nibedita Ram, J Anupriya, M. Pattabiraman, and C. Vijayan,

J. Phys. B: At. Mol. Opt. Phys. 42, 175504 (2009)

Year: 2009

Tricritical point and Magnetocaloric effect of Nd1-xSrxMnO3

R. Venkatesh , M. Pattabiraman, K. Sethupathi, G. Rangarajan,

J. Appl. Phys. ,103, 07B319 (2008)

Year: 2008

Magnetocapacitance in Dy-doped Ni ferrite

K. Kamala Bharathi, K. Balamurugan, P. N. Santhosh, M. Pattabiraman,G. Markandeyulu

Phys. Rev. B ,77,172401 (2008)

Year: 2008

Phase competition driven temperature broadening of colossal magnetoresistance in La0.815Sr0.185MnO3

M. Pattabiraman, Ramakrishna , Nikhil Pratap Singh, R. Venkatesh, S. Angappane, Rama and G. Rangarajan

J. Alloys and Compounds, 452, 230-233 (2008)

Year: 2008

Development of SQUID-Based System for Nondestructive Evaluation

R. Nagendran, M. P. Janawadkar, M. Pattabiraman, Dipak Kumar Baisnab, J. Jayapandian, R. Baskaran, L. S. Vaidhyanathan, Y. Hariharan, A. Nagesha, M. Valsan, K. Bhanu Sankara Rao, and Baldev Raj

IEEE Trans. on Appl. Supercon. ,17, 3824 (2007)

Year: 2007

Complex ferromagnetic state and magnetocaloric effect in single-crystalline Nd0.7Sr0.3MnO3

R. Venkatesh , M. Pattabiraman, S. Angappane, G. Rangarajan, K. Sethupathi, Jessy Karatha, M. Fecioru-Morariu, R.M. Ghadimi and G. Guntherodt

Phys. Rev. B ,75, 224415 (2007)

Year: 2007

Low field Zeeman Magnetometry using Rubidium Absorption~T,

Nibedita Ram, M. Pattabiraman and C. Vijayan

J. Phys.: Conf. Ser. 80, 012035 (2007)

Year: 2007

Rapid Flaw Depth Estimation from SQUID-based Eddy Current Non-Destructive Evaluation

M. Pattabiraman, R. Nagendranand M. P. Janawadkar

NDT & E International 40, 289 (2007)

Year: 2007

Enhanced Magnetoresistance Effect in Single Crystalline Nd0.5Sr0.5MnO3

R. Venkatesh, M. Pattabiraman, G.Rangarajan and K. Sethupathi

J. Appl. Phys. 101, 09C506 (2007)

Year: 2007

ESR Study of spin-lattice correlated clusters in Nd0.7Sr0.3MnO3 single crystals

S. Angappane, M. Pattabiraman, G. Rangarajan, K. Sethupati, Babu Varghese and V. S. Sastry

J. Phys. : Condens. Matter 19, 036207 ( 2007)

Year: 2007

Magneto caloric effect in Single crystalline Nd1-xSrxMnO3(x=0.3, 0.5)

R.Venkatesh, M. Pattabiraman, K. Sethupathi and G.Rangarajan

J. Magn. Mater. 310, 2813 (2007)

Year: 2007

Development of SQUID Based Non Destructive Evaluation System for Detecting Fatigue Induced Transformation of δ-Ferrite to Non-Magnetic Phases

R. Nagendran, M. P. Janawadkar, M. Pattabiraman, D. K. Baisnab, R. Baskaran, L. S. Vaidhyanathan ,Y. Hariharan, Baldev Raj, A. Nagesha, M. Valsan , K Bhanu Sankara Rao

NDT & E International 40, 215 (2007)

Year: 2007

The Nd-Mn Exchange Interaction in Nd0.7Sr0.3MnO3

M. Pattabiraman, R. Venkatesh , G. Rangarajan, P. Murugaraj, C. Dimitropoulos, J-Ph.Ansermetand, G. Papavassiliou

J. Phys.: Condens. Matter. 18, 11081 (2006)

Year: 2006

Finite element simulation of SQUID-based eddy current non-destructive evaluation of cylindrical tubes Pressure Vessels and Piping : Inspection and Life Management

M. Pattabiraman, R. Nagendran, D.K. Baisnab, M.P. Janawadkar and Y. Hariharan

Publishers: Narosa Publishing House, ASM International and Alpha Science. Edited by Dr. Baldev Raj, Dr. B.K. Choudhary and Dr. Anish Kumar (2006).

Year: 2006

Imaging Buried Defects In A Three Dimensional Magnetically Permeable Medium Using Generalized Inverse Technique

R. Bhaskaran, M. Pattabiraman and M. P. Janawadkar

J Appl. Phys. 100, 064909 (2006)

Year: 2006

The thermoelectric method for non-destructive evaluation: a finite element study

M. Pattabiraman, R. Nagendran, D. K. Baisnab, M. P. Janawadkar and Y. Hariharan

J. Phys D: Appl. Phys. 38 3985-3990 (2005)

Year: 2005

Electron spin resonance study of Nd0.7Sr0.3MnO3 single crystals

S. Angappane, M. Pattabiraman, G. Rangarajan, and K. Sethupathi

J Appl. Phys. 97, 10H705 (2005)

Year: 2005

Determination of the elastic moduli in LiAlO2

F. Jachmann, M. Pattabiraman and C. Hucho

J. Appl. Phys. 98, 073501 (2005)

Year: 2005

Electrical conduction through bond percolation in Nd0.67Sr0.33MnO3

M. Pattabiraman, G. Rangarajan and P. Murugaraj

Sol. Stat. Commun. 132, 7-11 (2004)

Year: 2004

ESR studyof Nd0.5Sr0.5MnO3 single crystal

S. Angappane, M. Pattabiraman, G. Rangarajan, K. Sethupathi, G. Balakrishnan, D.McK. Paul, M.R. Lees, V.S. Sastry

J Magn. Magn. Mater. 272–276, 1807–1809 (2004)

Year: 2004

Electron magnetic resonance study in a single crystal of the colossal magnetoresistance manganite Nd0.5Sr0.5MnO3

S. Angappane, M. Pattabiraman, G. Rangarajan, K. Sethupathi and V.S. Sastry

Phys. Rev. B 69, 094437 1 - 8 (2004)

Year: 2004

Raman scattering study of Nd1-xSrxMnO3 (x = 0.3, 0.5)

K-Y Choi, P. Lemmens, G. Guentherodt, M. Pattabiraman, G. Rangarajan, V. P. Gnezdilov, G. Balakrishnan, D. McK Paul and M. R. Lees

J. Phys. Condens. Matter 15, 3333 (2003)

Year: 2003