Department of Physics

Indian Institute Of Technology Madras , Chennai

Faculty

Dr. Abhishek Misra

Assistant Professor

  044-2257-4859

  Condensed Matter Physics

  Ph.D. : IIT Bombay

  abhishek.misra@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Aditi Simha

Assistant Professor

  044-2257-4881

  Soft Condensed Matter

  Ph.D. : IISc Bangalore

  phyadt@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Aravind, G

Associate Professor

  044-2257-4863

  Atomic and Molecular Physics

  Ph.D. : TIFR Mumbai

  garavind@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Arul Lakshminarayan

Professor

  044-2257-4878

  Quantum Information Theory

  Ph.D. : SUNY Stony Brook

  arul@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Ashwin Joy

Assistant Professor

  044-2257-4892

  Condensed Matter Physics

  Ph.D. : IPR Gandhinagar

  ashwin@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Ayan Mukhopadhyay

Assistant Professor

  044-2257-4842

  Quantum Field Theory

  Ph.D. : HRI Allahabad

  ayan@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Basudev Roy

Assistant Professor

  044-2257-4843

  Experimental soft matter physics

  Ph.D. : IISER Kolkata

  basudev@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Chandra Kant Mishra

Assistant Professor

  044-2257- 4860

  Gravitational Waves

  Ph.D. : IISc Bangalore

  ckm@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Dawood Kothawala

Assistant Professor

  044-2257-4848

  Classical and Quantum Aspects

  Ph.D. : IUCAA Pune

  dawood@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Dillip K. Satapathy

Associate Professor

  044-2257-4899

  Exp. Soft Condensed Matter

  Ph.D. : humboldt Univ, Germany

  dks@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Ganesan, AR

Professor

  044-2257-4891

  Optics and Photonics

  Ph.D. : IIT Madras

  arg@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Harish Kumar, N

Professor

  044-2257-4879

  Magnetoelectronics

  Ph.D. : University of Hyderabad

  nhk@iitm.ac.in


Dr. James Libby

Professor

  044-2257-4885

  Exp. High Energy Physics

  Ph.D. : University of Oxford

  libby@iitm.ac.in


Prof. Jatin Rath

Professor

  044-2257-4849

  Photovoltaics and Nanomaterials

  Ph.D. : IIT Madras

  jkr@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Jayeeta Bhattacharyya

Assistant Professor

  044-2257-4856

  Study of Semiconductors

  Ph.D. : TIFR Mumbai

  jayeeta@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Kasiviswanathan, S

Professor

  044-2257-4868

  Thin Films

  Ph.D. : IIT Madras

  kasi@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Krishnamurthy, CV

Associate Professor

  044-2257-4864

  Measurement Condensed Matter

  Ph.D. : IIT Madras

  cvkm@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Lakshmi Bala, S

Professor

  044-2257-4869

  Dynamical Systems

  Ph.D. : Madras University

  slbala@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Mahaveer Kumar Jain

Associate Professor

  044-2257-4880

  Photovoltaics

  Ph.D. : IIT Delhi

  mkjain@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Manoj Gopalakrishnan

Associate Professor

  044-2257-4894

  Biological Physics

  Ph.D. : IMSc Chennai

  manojgopal@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Manu Jaiswal

Associate Professor

  044-2257-4893

  Low Dimensional Material

  Ph.D. : IISc Bangalore

  manu.jaiswal@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Markandeyulu, G

Professor

  044-2257-4870

  Magnetism & Magnetic Materials

  Ph.D. : IIT Madras

  mark@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Murugavel, P

Associate Professor

  044-2257-4897

  Magneto-Electric Materials

  Ph.D. : IISc Bangalore

  muruga@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Neelima M. Gupte

Professor

  044-2257-4861

  Dynamic Systems

  Ph.D. : SUNY Stony Brook

  gupte@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Nirmala R

Associate Professor

  044-2257-4888

  Condensed Matter Experiment

  Ph.D. : IIT Madras

  nirmala@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Panchanana Khuntia

Assistant Professor

  044-2257-4847

  Exp. Condensed Matter Physics

  Ph.D. : IIT Bombay

  pkhuntia@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Pattabiraman, M

Associate Professor

  044-2257-4890

  Optics and Photonics

  Ph.D. : IIT Madras

  pattu@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Prabha Mandayam

Assistant Professor

  044-2257-4853

  Quantum Info. & Computing

  Ph.D. : CALTECH, california

  prabhamd@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Prabhat R Pujahari

Assistant Professor

  044-2257-4844

  Exp.High Energy Physics

  Ph.D. : IIT Bombay

  p.pujahari@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Prafulla Kumar Behera

Associate Professor

  044-2257-4898

  Experimental particle physics

  Ph.D. : Utkal University, Japan

  behera@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Prahallad Padhan

Associate Professor

  044-2257-4884

  Interface Funct & Nanoscale

  Ph.D. : IIT Kanpur

  padhan@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Prasanta Kumar Tripathy

Associate Professor

  044-2257-4889

  String Theory

  Ph.D. : IOP Utkal University

  prasanta@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Prem B. Bisht

Professor

  044-2257-4866

  Optics and Photonics

  Ph.D. : Kamaun Univ. Naini Tai

  bisht@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Rajesh Narayanan

Associate Professor

  044-2257-4858

  Condensed Matter Theory

  Ph.D. : University of Oregon

  rnarayanan@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Ramachandra Rao, MS

Professor

  044-2257-4872

  Electronic & Magnetic Materials

  Ph.D. : IIT Kharagpur

  msrrao@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Ramaprabhu, S

Institute Chair Professor

  044-2257-4862

  Alternative Energy & Nanotech

  Ph.D. : IIT Madras

  ramp@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Ranjit Kumar Nanda B

Associate Professor

  044-2257-4887

  Condensed Matter Theory

  Ph.D. : IIT Bombay

  nandab@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Sankaranarayanan, V

Professor

  044-2257-4873

  Low Temperature Physics

  Ph.D. : IIT Madras

  vsn@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Santhosh, PN

Professor

  044-2257-4882

  Condensed Matter Experiment

  Ph.D. : NCL Pune

  santhosh@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Satyanarayana, MV

Professor

  044-2257-4874

  Quantum Optics

  Ph.D. : IMSc, Madras University

  mvs@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Sethupathi, K

Professor

  044-2257-4875

  Low temperature Physics

  Ph.D. : Moscow State University

  ksethu@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Shantanu Mukherjee

Assistant Professor

  044-2257-4845

  Condensed Matter Theory

  Ph.D. : UWM, U.S.A

  shantanu@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Sivarama Krishnan

Assistant Professor

  044-2257-4857

  Light Matter Interaction

  Ph.D. : Max Planck Insitute

  srkrishnan@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Somnath Chanda Roy

Associate Professor

  044-2257-4886

  Experiment Materials Science

  Ph.D. : IIT Delhi

  somnath@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Srinivas, V

Professor

  044-2257-4896

  Exp. condensed Matter Physics

  Ph.D. : IIT Bombay

  veeturi@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Sriramkumar, L

Professor

  044-2257-4854

  Semi-classical Gravity

  Ph.D. : IUCAA, Pune

  sriram@physics.iitm.ac.in


Dr. Subrahmanyam, A

Professor

  044-2257-4865

  Photovoltaics, Photocatalysis

  Ph.D. : IIT Kharagpur

  manu@iitm.ac.in


Prof. Subramanian V

Professor

  044-2257-4883

  Microwave Materials

  Ph.D. : IIT Madras

  manianvs@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Sudakar Chandran

Associate Professor

  044-2257-4895

  Multi Functional Materials

  Ph.D. : IISc Bangalore

  csudakar@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Sunethra Ramanan

Assistant Professor

  044-2257-4871

  Theoretical Nuclear Physics

  Ph.D. : OSU, U.S.A

  suna@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Sunil Kumar, P. B

Director, IIT Palakkad - On EOL

  044-2257-4876

  Complex Fluids

  Ph.D. : RRI, Bangalore

  sunil@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Suresh Govindarajan

Professor

  044-2257-4867

  Theoretical High Energy Physics

  Ph.D. : U Pennsylvania

  suresh@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Vaibhav Madhok

Assistant Professor

  044-2257-4846

  Quantum Information Theory

  Ph.D. : University of New Mexico

  madhok@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Vidya Praveen Bhallamudi

Assistant Professor

  044-2257-4849

  Condensed Matter Physics

  Ph.D. : Ohio State University

  praveen.bhallamudi@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Vijayan, C

Professor

  044-2257-4877

  Nanophotonics

  Ph.D. : IIT Madras

  cvijayan@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Yasir Iqbal

Assistant Professor

  044-2257-4841

  Condensed Matter Theory

  Ph.D. : University of Toulouse

  yiqbal@iitm.ac.in



Distinguished Faculty

Prof. Jagadeesh S. Moodera

Scientist and Group Leader, Francis Bitter Magnet Laboratory

  044-2257-

  

  Ph.D. :

  moodera@mit.edu



Adjunct Faculty

Dr. K Lakshmi Ganapathi

DST INSPIRE Faculty

  044-2257-4850

  Nanoelectronics: 2D Material

  Ph.D. : IISc Bangalore

  klganapathi@iitm.ac.in


Dr. Pramoda Kumar Nayak

Ramanujan Fellow

  044-2257-4850

  2D layered Semiconductors

  Ph.D. : IIT Guwahati

  pnayak@iitm.ac.in